Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other shows that you might wish to book him for:

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

Check here to find out where Charlie is performing in 2018/20. We'll be giving more information over time.

2018 - 2020 Bookings

Key

IMS – In a Manner of Speaking – The Story of Spoken English

ADS After Dinner Speech

ELCEccentric Look at Countryside

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

HOS – History of Surnames

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2018

November

Thurs 1st Nov – Thundridge and High Cross Society – HOSE - PF

Wed 7th Nov – Blackwater U3A – ELEA - PF

Thurs 8th Nov  - Earl Soham W.I. - HOS - PF

Tues 13th Nov – Maypole Heritage – ELC - PF

Thurs 15th Nov  - BBC Radio Suffolk – 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Fri 16th Nov – BBC Radio Suffolk – Children in Need

Sat 17th Nov – Holbrook Christmas Fayre – 11am to 2pm

Sat 17th Nov – A Suffolk Show, Rendham Village Hall – 7.30 start – OTP Tickets £10 – contact 01986 784053

Fri 23rd Nov – A Suffolk Show, Wenhaston Village Hall – 7.30 start - OTP Tickets £10 – contact 01986 784053

Mon 26th Nov – Maldon & Dist. U3A – HOS – PF

 

December

Tues 4th Dec – Mingle & Jingle – Hearing Care, Novo Hotel - PF

Wed 5th Dec – Westerfield & Dist. Gardening Club – IMS – PF

Thurs 6th Dec  - BBC Radio Suffolk – 1.30pm to 2.30pm

Tues 11th Dec – Bury St Edmunds U3A – The Apex – HOSE – PF

Wed 12th Dec – Chelmsford U3A  - ELEA - PF

Thurs 13th Dec - Poplar Nurseries Gardening Club – Marks Tey – IMS– PFT

Sat 15th Dec - Harkstead Farmer's Market - 9am to 12 noon

Mon 17th Dec – Deben Probus – Ufford – ADS - PF

Wed 19th Dec – Boxted History Group – ELEA – PF

 

2019

January

Sat 12th Jan – Hundon Gardening Club – ADS – PF

Tues 15th Jan – Upminster U3A – HOSE - PF

Thurs 17th Jan – Tiptree U3A – ELEA - PF

Fri 18th Jan – HaveringAntiques Collectors' Club – ELC – PF

 

February

Tues 5th Feb – Halstead U3A – HOSE – PF

Wed 6th Feb – Chelmsford & District NT – IMS - PF

Tues 12th Feb – Diss Family History – HOS – PF

Fri 22nd Feb – Bishop's Stortford – HOSE - PF

 

March

Tues 12th Mar – Tuddenham W.I – HOSE - PF

Fri 8th Mar – Bramford Music Night – OTP

Sat 9th Mar – Inst. of Agric. Sec's – Nat. Conf. - ADS - PF

Thurs 14th – Buckhurst Hill U3A – HOSE - PF

Tues 19th Mar – Abingdon Forget-me-not – HOS - PF

Thurs 21st Mar – Old Ram Tractor Club – ELSE - PF

Fri 22nd Mar – St Mary & St Edward Church, W. Hanningfield – HOSE – OTP

 

April

Wed 3rd April – Barton Mills Wednesday Club – HOSE - PF

Tues 9th April – A Get Together - Methodist Church – Museum St. Ipswich - HOSE

Fri 12th April – Limebrook Maldon U3A – HOSE - PF

Fri 26th April – Skulduggery in Stowmarket - OTP

 

May

Wed 1st May – Thurrock Antiques Collectors' Club – HOSE - PF

Wed 15th May – Haverhill Owls W.I. - HOSE – PF

Thurs 16th May - Stock Harvard W.I. - HOSE – PF

Thurs 23rdMay – Hawkwell Village U3A – HOSE – PF

 

June

Wed 5th June – Haughley W.I. - HOS - PF

Wed 19th June– Quay Theatre, Sudbury – HOSE – OTP

July

Wed 3rd July – Bedford U3A – HOS - PF

Mon 15th July – Sible Hedingham W.I. - HOSE - PF

Thurs 18th July – Bramford History Group – HOSE - PF


September

Thurs 5th Sept – Wilstead W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 13th Sept – Oddfellows – Stoke by Nayland GC – ADS - PF

Wed 18th Sept – Cornards & Chilton Hort. Soc, - ELS - PF

 

October

Fri 11th Oct – Bures Derby & Joan Club – HOS - PF

 

November 

Mon 11th Nov - Suffolk West NHS Retirement Fellowship – Horringer – HOS - PF

Wed 13th Nov – West Bergholt History Group – HOS - PF

Thurs 14th Nov – Stanford-le-Hope U3A – HOS – PF

Thurs 21st Nov – Stanstead U3A – ELC - PF

Tues 26th Nov – Suffolk FHS of Sudbury – IMS – PF

 

December

Sat 14th Dec – Essex Soc. Family History  – ELC - PF

 

2020

April

Tues 21st April – Waltham Forest U3A – HOS– PF

Tues 28th April – Diss Ladies' Luncheon Club – HOSE pt 2 - PF

 

May

Mon 18th May – Hutton U3A – ELEA - PF

Tues May 19th – St Neot's U3A – HOSE - PF

 

Key

ADS – After Dinner Speech

ELC – Eccentric Look at Countryside

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

IMS – In a Manner of Speaking – The Story of Spoken English

HOSS – History of Suffolk Surnames

HOS – History of Surnames

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function