Charlie is a tireless performer with a commanding stage presence. He has a number of different shows and talks, including his classic all evening, “Eccentric Look at Suffolk”. He has other popular shows that you might wish to book him for:

NEW TALK!!!

Charlie was personally chosen by the great Ralph Fiennes to be the dialect coach for the wonderful Netflix film The Dig. Charlie has created a fascinating new talk about his experiences preparing Ralph and the cast for their roles and Charlie will reveal the extraordinary lengths Ralph Fiennes took, not only to play Basil Brown, but to become Basil Brown!

History of spoken English

This is not a talk on split infinitives, and what the differences are between the past participle and the past tense. Definitely not! Charlie shows how the seeds of spoken English was first sown, and how each invading force affected the English language with the different sounds they brought. Charlie includes a dialect tour of the British Isles, demonstrating the different facial expressions of each dialect. He also shows how some people he knows that lip read can tell what dialect a person has.

 

 

History of English Surnames

Charlie will talk about the Anglo-Saxon and Viking bynames and nicknames we had prior to the Norman Conquest. He will explain how and why surnames evolved after 1066 AD, and the disruption it caused. Charlie then enlightens the audience on the four different types of surnames which includes explaining the meanings of some of the surnames sitting in the audience.

This will be followed by Q&A

 

2022 - 2023 Bookings

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2 - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public

PF – Private Function

 

2022 - 2023

2022

May

Thurs 5th May - Walberswick W.I. - HOSE - PF

Fri 6th May -  Ilketshall St Andrew - TD - OTP

Sat 7th May - Belstead Village Market - 9.30am to 12.30pm

Sat 7th May - Lower Layham  - TD - PF

Tues 10th May - Blo Norton LHG - TD - PF

Thurs 12th May - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Thurs 12th May - "A New Suffolk Garland" Launch (a Suffolk anthology) Celebrating Queen's Jubilee

Fri 13th May - Holbrook Society - TD - OTP

Thurs 19th May - St Mary's Fellowship - Bocking - TD - PF

Fri 20th May - Harwich Electrical Palace - TD - PF

Sat 21st May - Harkstead Farmer's Market - 9am to 12 noon

Mon 23th May - East Suffolk U3A - HOS - PF

Thurs 26th May - South Elmham LHG - TD - PF

Fri 27th May - VIVO Concert - Holbrook - OTP

Sat 28th May - Chilton Church, Sudbury - TD - OTP

 

June

Thurs 2nd June - Cowlinge Queen's Jubilee - TD - OTP

Sat 4th June - Belstead Village Market - 9.30am to 12.30pm

Tues 7th june  - Stowmarket Probus Club - HOSE - PF

Wed 8th June  - Writtle Evening W.I. - HOS - PF

Thurs 9th June - BSE Probus 3 - TD - PF

Sat 11th June - Brandeston Film Club - TD - OTP

Weds 15th June - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm to 4.00pm

Fri 17th June - Two Sister's Arts Centre, Trimley - Suffolk Day Talk - OTP

Sat 18th June - Harkstead Farmer's Market - 9am to 12 noon

Tues 21st June - Quay Theatre Sudbury  - TD  - OTP

Wed 22nd June - MDM Birthday - ADT - PF

Thurs 23rd June - Sir John Mills Theatre - TD - OTP

Fri 24th June - Friends in Bereavement - Stowmarket - TD - PF

Sat 25th June - Walberswick LHG - TD - PF

Mon 27th June - Southwold Arts Festival - TD - OTP

 

July

Sat 2nd July - Belstead Village Market - 9.30am to 12.30pm

Wed 6th July - South Woodham Ferrers U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 7th July - Ipswich & Suffolk Club - TD - PF

Mon 11th July - Buntingford U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 13th July  - Ware U3A - HOS - PF  - afternoon

Thurs 14th July - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Thurs 14th July - Great Bentley - HOSE- PF

Sat 16th July - Harkstead Farmer's Market - 9am to 12 noon

Mon 18th July - Sudbury QH W.I. - ELS - PF

Tues 19th July - St Neot's U3A - HOSE - PF

Tues 20th July - Ely Cathedral - PF

Thurs 21st July - St Cyriacs Swaffham Priory - TD - PF

Mon 25th July - Hutton U3A - ELC - PF

Wed 27th July - Sainsbury's Veterans - HOSE - PF

Fri 29th July - Coddenham History Society - TD - PF

 

September

Thurs 1st Sept - Ipswich & Suffolk Club - TD - PF

Sat 3rd Sept - Belstead Village Market - 9.30am to 12.30pm

Thurs 8th Sept - BBC Radio Suffolk - 3.15pm

Fri 9th Sept - Bures Darby & Joan - TD - PF

Sat 10th Sept - All Saints' Church, Bury St Eds - TBA

Wed 14th Sept  - Little Waldingfield Hist. Soc. - TD - PF

Thurs 15th Sept - Tiptree U3A - TD - PF

Fri 16th Sept - Havering Antique Collectors Club -  TD  PF 

Sat 17th Sept - Harkstead Farmer's Market - 9am to 12 noon

Wed 21st Cornards & Chilton HC - TD - PF

Sat 24th Sept - Alderton Village Hall - TD - OTP

Thurs 29th Sept - Thetford U3A - TD - PF

 

October

Sat 1st Oct - Belstead Village Market - 9.30am to 12.30pm

Sat 1st Oct - Moulton Church - TD - OTP

Wed 5th Oct - Lavenham Society - TD - PF

Thurs 6th Oct - Felixstowe Landguard Rotary - ADT - PF

Sat 8th Oct - Ormiston Families - TD - PF

Wed 12th Oct - Stour Valley U3A - TD - PF

Sat 15th Oct - Bergh Apton Church - TD - OTP

Tues 18th Oct- Upminster U3A - HOSE-2 - PF

Thurs 20th Oct - Alton Belles W.I. - TD - PF

Fri 21st Oct - Trafalgar Day Talk - Shotley Peninsular - PF

Sat 22nd Oct - Barrow Church - TD - PF

Wed 26th Oct - Rickinghall Heritage Circle - TD - PF

Fri 28th October - Bungay Flower Club - TD - PF

 

November

Sat 5th Nov - Belstead Village Market - 9.30am to 12.30pm

Mon 7th Nov - Monk's Eleigh History Club - TD - PF

Tues 8th Nov - Bramford Ladies Lunch Club - TD - PF 

Wed 9th Nov - Havering U3A - TD - PF

Sat 12th Nov - Foxearth & Dist. LHS - HOSE - PF

Mon 14th Nov -  Bishop's Stortford U3A – HOS– PF

Thurs 17th Nov - Butley W.I. - TD - PF 

Sat 19th Nov - Harkstead Farmer's Market - 9am to 12 noon

Sat 19th Nov - Stowlangtoft Church - HOSE - OTP

Tues 22nd Nov - Fressingfield LH & AG - TD - PF

Wed 23rd Nov - English Speaking Union - Covent Garden - PF

Sat 26th Nov - Gestingthorpe History Group - TD - PF

 

December

Sat 10 Dec - Yaxley Village Hall - HOSE - OTP

Tues 13th Dec - Halesworth U3A - TD - PF

Wed 14th Dec - Beccles U3A - HOSE - PF (morning)

Wed 14th Dec - Chelmsford & Dist. NT - TD - PF (evening)

Thurs 15th Dec - Garboldisham History Soc. - ELEA - PF

Sat 20th Dec - Harkstead Farmer's Market - 9am to 12 noon

 

 

2023

January

Wed 11th Jan - Thundersley U3A - HOSE - OTP

Tues 24th Jan - Sudbury U3A - TD - PF

 

February

Fri 3rd Feb - Brightlingsea U3A - TD - PF

Mon 13th Feb - W Suffolk NHS Retirement Fellowship - ELS - PF

Thurs 16th Feb - Upminster Wine & Social Club - HOSE - PF

Fri 17th Feb - Beacon Wine Circle - TD - PF

 

April

Tues 5th April - Rayleigh U3A - HOSE - PF

Wed 6th April - Wymondham U3A - TD - TD

Tues 11th April - Abingdon Over 50s - ELEA - PF

Wed 12th April - Ditchingham W.I. - TD - PF

Thurs 13th April - East Suffolk U3A (Saxmundham) - TD - PF

Sat 16th April - Rede Church - TBA - OTP

Tues 18th April - New Eastwood U3A - HOSE - PF

 

May

Fri 12th May - Morgan Sports CC, Stoke by Nayland - ADT - PF

 

June

Mon 12 June - Hadleigh U3A - HOS - PF

 

July

Tues 11th July - Harwich Peninsular U3A - PF

Thurs 13th July - Buckhurst Hill U3A - HOS - PF

Tues 18th July - Mildenhall W.I - HOS - PF

Weds 19th July - Redbourn U3A - HOSE - PF

Tues 25th July - Watford Park U3A - HOS - PF

Wed 26th July -  Chorleywood U3A - HOS - PF

 

Sept

Fri 1st Sept -  Burnham-on-Crouch U3A - HOSE - PF

Thurs 7th Sept - Frinton Ladies' Probus Club - HOSE - PF

Wed 13th Sept - Babergh Oddfellows - TD - PF

Thurs 14th Sept - Burstall W.I. - TD - PF

Thurs 28th sept - Watton U3A  (Norfolk) - HOS - PF

 

October

Fri 6th Oct - Harringworth Church (Northants) - HOSE - OTP

Fri 27th Oct - Bishop's Stortford U3A (History Group) - TD - PF

 

November

Tues 14th Nov - Waltham Abbey U3A - HOSE - PF

 

December

Thurs 7th Dec - Beccles Historical Society - HOSE - PF

 

 

Key

TD - Charlie and "The Dig"

HOSE - History of Spoken English

HOSE-2  - History of Spoken English - Part 2

HOS – History of Surnames

ELS – Eccentric Look at Suffolk

ELEA – Eccentric Look at East Anglia

ELC – Eccentric Look at the Countryside

ADS – After Dinner Speech

OTP – Open to the Public